A Delicious Guide to Bath

In the spirit of enjoying what we have on our doorstep instead of always hopping on a flight, today we are visiting the Roman city of Bath in Somerset. I grew up around Bath and it’s where I have been working for the past few years. Over this time I have gone out for more brunches, lunches and dinners than my bank account probably should have allowed me to.

There are so many places to eat in Bath, I think it’s one of the easiest cities to go to outside of London and find somewhere that does good grub. However, as a local, I am going to share the places you just have to visit. As always, scroll to the bottom for a map.

Coffee Shops

Mokoko Coffee

Mokoko Coffee is a cute little coffee shop situated just outside of Bath Abbey. You can either sit outside and take in the views or sit indoors where upstairs you will find a few cosy living room styled rooms to choose from with sofas and coffee tables. They offer takeaway as an option too.

My recommendation: The salted caramel chocolate brownie.

Society Café

There are two Society Café’s in Bath, one in Kingsmead Square and one on the high street just off of The Corridor. You can either sit indoors or takeaway from both. They do the most incredible cakes. They are a bit pricier than what you would expect from your local Costa, but they are worth every penny.

My recommendation: The carrot cake (best. carrot. cake. ever.)

Society Cafe, Bath High Street | Great Food Club

Brunch

Côte Brasserie

Côte Brasserie is a chain and I have been to a few but I really love the one in Bath, especially for Brunch. It’s tucked away in Milsom Place and their breakfast menu is amazing. With a set price of £10.50, you can choose from one of the cooked breakfasts, have either Orange or Apple juice and a hot drink of your choice.

My Recommendation: The Eggs Royale

Rosarios

This cute little italian cafe is a brilliant spot for breakfast and lunch. Tucked away in The Corridor, Roasarios brings a touch of Sicily to the West Country. Their coffee is fantastic and when you sit upstairs you feel as though you have been transported to a cosy italian town.

My recommendation: The homemade pancakes with mixed fruits, yoghurt and maples syrup

Same Same but Different

This is another little cafe that is great for either breakfast or lunch, but I have to say their brunch is always so good. Same Same but Different is just up a side street off of George St. They do the best scrambled eggs and a great full english breakfast.

My recommendation: Scrambled eggs with chorizo

Cote Brasserie - Bath | Door design, Restaurant, Outdoor decor

Lunch

The Whole Bagel

Anyone that knows me will know that before COVID-19, I went here so much on my lunch that i’m pretty sure I was their most loyal customer – I mean, we’re on first name basis now. You can either sit in or takeaway and can choose from a variety of bagels, a wrap, or baguette to put in your filling of choice. They have a really good menu and make any alterations that you may have to particular fillings.

My recommendation: Spanish Club on a plain bagel topped with salt and pepper

Mission Burrito

Mission Burrito is another lunchtime favourite for me. You can sit in or takeaway, and have a choice of a burrito, rice box or salad box. They have a variety of ingredients to choose from to create your own burrito (or box) and often do a special meat combination such as chicken and chorizo or at Christmas, chicken and pigs in blankets.

My recommendation: It’s very much down to taste, just chuck in as much as you want and have them make you the fattest burrito you’ve ever had.

The Botonist

If I become a lady that lunches, this is where I imagine me and my friends will go. Unlike my other two lunch suggestions, this isn’t a quick stop. I’ll admit sometimes the service has been slow but I like that when I’m not in a rush. Not only is the food really good but the interiors are absolutely stunning. If you’re a lunch-time cocktail goer like me – you much try their pink gin punch cocktail.

My recommendation: Chicken and chorizo hanging kebab served with their seasoned chips.

Dinner

Hudsons

My favourite steakhouse in Bath. I’ll be honest, it breaks the bank a little but the steak is the best I have ever had and i’ve never been able to find a fillet as soft as I can get here. The restaurant is set in a converted pub with soft lighting and candles on the tables. They have a range of steaks with a selection of sides and a delicious dessert menu.

My recommendation: Prime fillet with a side of truffle parmesan fries and sticky toffee pudding for dessert.

La Perla

This is my favourite place for tapas in Bath. With a menu full of variety and great service, I could eat here every week. The restaurant is down in one of the old wine cellars just off the North Parade and is super cosy.

My recommendation: Patatas Bravas, Chistorra Y Chorizo Criollo, Croqueta de Jamón, Raíces

La Perla - colour-change LEDs in Bath restaurant & tapas bar

Cheaper-yet-cheerful dinner

Tapas Revolution

La Perla isn’t a cheap place to eat tapas, but if you are still wanting your Spanish fix then Tapas Revolution is a great alternative. They have a lively vibe and they do great, cheap cocktail pitchers. On their menu, you have the option to choose individual tapas, paellas or you can choose a set meal of tapas to feed X amount of people. I found this was a great way to try something I wouldn’t usually choose from the tapas list.

My recommendation: Cerdo Con Piquillos Y Salsa Verde and Berenjenas Fritas

Bath Pizza Co.

At Green Park Station is the cutest little pizza place that is, to be honest, great for both lunch and dinner. Plus they usually do pizza and a pint for £10. They have covered seating outside with heat lamps to keep you warm in the colder weather with fairy lights around the walls and fencing. With a menu full of options, their pizza is incredible and made in a proper pizza oven. You also get a lot of pizza for your pound.

My recommendation: Truffle and goats cheese pizza

Hall and Woodhouse

Introducing to you, my local watering hole. Now, I couldn’t write this list without adding in Hall and Woodhouse. This pub/restaurant is somewhere I easily spend one evening a week (pre-COVID). In the bar area, they have benches for bigger groups and tables or sofas for smaller groups and upstairs a gorgeous restaurant leading up to a rooftop bar. They have a traditional pub menu and some options with a bit of a classy twist for any time of day but as someone that’s spent many evenings there, I’m more familiar with their dinner options… and their alcohol menu.

My recommendations: If you’re there for a pint – you must have a side of their triple cooked chips. Fancy something more? You must try their Hall and Woodhouse burger with a side of either fries or chips with a Juniper and Elderflower Spritz.

Want to discover Bath’s greatest bars next week? Subscribe below

One thought on “A Delicious Guide to Bath

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started